Crucial Quotes – #21

“Everything that irritates us about others can lead us to an understanding of ourselves.”
– Carl Jung

Swiss psychiatrist

(July 26, 1875 – June 6, 1961)

My first exposure to Carl Jung came about during my mid-teenage years while reading a biography on Barbra Streisand. Miss Babs was a strict adherent to Jungian philosophy for quite some time. Portions of her discussions on Jung were printed in the book in a clear and easy for a 15 year old to grasp.

I liked a lot of what she said about him.

As I continued my secondary education I continued to stumble across Mr. Jung in advanced and abnormal psychology classes and even into a literature class during discussion of the cycles in Lord of The Rings and Alice in Wonderland.

I am by no means an expert of his studies, teachings or philosophies but I do find a lot of value in the things I have been exposed to. This quote says to me that when we are irritated with others for their actions big and small it is within ourself that we must look to see why other’s lives are so disturbing to us.

This quote has helped me let go of the constant bitterness of other’s behaviors and allowed me the freedom to be kinder.

Leave a Reply

