Crucial Quotes #4

“The Constitution only gives people the right to pursue happiness.

You have to catch it yourself. “

Benjamin Franklin (January 17, 1706 – April 17, 1790)

Benjamin Franklin was a remarkable American. From inventor to statesman to just an all around witty guy; Franklin was a genius who fought for his principles. He is the only man who signed all four documents that created the United States of America:

The Declaration of Independence (1776)

The Treaty of Alliance with France (1778)

The Treaty of Paris – to establish peace with Britain (1783)

The Constitution of the United States of America (1787)

I often feel like repeating this quote to people. We are not entitled to be “happy”. It is generally not anyone’s fault when we are not “happy”. We are responsible to making our own happiness. Whether that means walking away from a toxic situation or speaking for someone who can’t speak for themselves we steer ourselves towards happiness.

The mentality of  “the world owes me”  holds no measure with me. It goes against the values I was raised with and continue to try to live by. My parents taught me to be responsible and self-sufficient. While I sometimes stumble I realize that I am the one who has to make changes or sacrifices; to ask questions or for help; I am the Mistress of my own happiness.  Do I choose to be happy or am I content to remain miserable?

This quote always reminded me of the expression about pulling yourself up by your bootstraps. Do you want to be happy?? Yes?? Then get your ass busy and be proactive! Do things that will bring you happiness and won’t bring harm to others.

Open yourself up to the possibilities of happiness. Free yourself from judging others. Embrace people for who they are, right this minute, and love being with them or find someone new to love. We can’t change others but we can change ourselves.

And the easiest thing to change about yourself?

Your attitude.

One thought on “Crucial Quotes #4

Leave a Reply

