Crucial Quotes #2

Last week I waxed poetic about Mr. Adams so it’s fitting that this week is the majestic Mrs. Adams. Abigail Adams, a First Lady with a feminist streak a mile wide, often debated her husband John on topics of the era – slavery, education and  women’s rights.

Her husband respected her as an equal and treated her as such. Their enduring love and intellectual bantering  is well documented in the couple’s letters to each other .

“I’ve always felt that a person’s intelligence is directly reflected by the number of conflicting points of view he can entertain simultaneously on the same topic.”

-Abigail Adams (November 11, 1744 – October 28, 1818)

This quote has always struck me as interesting. I often can see multiple sides to an idea or an argument. Frequently I can talk myself into and right back out of a belief or a statement. I guess I like the idea of Abigail giving us permission to argue with ourselves by hinting that very thing is what shows the true measure of intellect.

Leave a Reply

