Thou Shall Not

If forced to classify myself in a belief system I would say I am in line with a naturalistic pagan/agnostic. Most often, I choose not to classify myself because I enjoy exploring many cultures and belief systems.
I have been lucky enough to meet people of many religions who were kind enough to indulge my questions. Over the years it has allowed me to explore aspects of many different organized religions – Catholicism, Judaism, Lutheran, Hinduism, Paganism, Wiccan, Buddhism, Baptist, Greek and Russian Orthodox, Native American worship and Quaker.
Co-workers, friends and boyfriends all helped to expand my knowledge. I have always loved watching documentaries on religion as well. The History Channel is ripe with fantastic shows about the Bible, the Torah, ancient Gods and Goddess, Vikings and Celts. They truly fascinate me.
I have often been in a situation where I know things about a person’s religion that they themselves do not know. It always amuses me. I may not have the faith in the meanings behind the words in the Bible but I’ve read it and like any good novel I remember what I’ve read. 🙂
All of that being said…. I was browsing cross stitch patterns on-line and keep laughing at myself. I had a constant refrain of a few Deadly Sins and the Tenth Commandment running in my head.
“Thou shall not covet your neighbor’s house. Thou shall not covet your neighbor’s wife, or his male or female servant, his ox or donkey, or anything that belongs to thou neighbor.”

Throw in a little sin of Greed and Gluttony and that is the perfect summation of my time on-line.
BUT…..
I do not hold myself to the structure of an organized religion.
I worship all things beautiful, colorful and awe-inspiring.  My church surrounds me. It is a sun dappled spot under a tree or the beach in the summer moonlight or walking with a cool breeze on my face. My prayer-book is my imagination, creativity and curiosity.
This was not my intended topic for an entry today. In fact, it is far from it.
All of this sprung about because of my “sinful” drooling over new stitching patterns! I had a very good laugh at the notion I should be ashamed of myself for looking at patterns.
Yes, I know to some reading this I am on a steady slope to “H – E – Double Hockey Sticks” but that’s ok. I’ve got a good table reserved for my friends and I. We will most certainly have quite the conversations for all eternity.
I’ll make sure I pack all my stitching patterns. Do you think Hell will have good lighting? 😉

Leave a Reply

