MM

I am not sure where my fascination with Marilyn Monroe came from. Too many musicals on the UHF channels on Saturdays as a child? Hearing Candle in the Wind by Elton John too many times on the radio in middle school? The 30th anniversary of her death when I was 19? Who really knows?

The tragedy of her life enraptured me enough that I wrote my developmental psych case study using her as my subject. The thing was such a joy to research and write that it was over 40 pages when it was finished.

The charm of Miss M still holds my attention today. My favorite movie of hers “Gentlemen Prefer Blondes” has been in rotation on the cable movie channels and I watch it every time I see it is on. I adore it.

I recently found pictures of Marilyn putting on makeup or doing her hair and framed them for inclusion in my bathroom remodel. I have always loved the pictures of her caught unaware or doing everyday things instead of the high velocity sex pot shots.

While searching for my “bathroom” pics (which I’ll get around to showcasing here eventually!) I found some beautiful shots to share.

They struck me with their simplicity, honesty and heart.

4 thoughts on “MM

  1. mom says:

    nice pics, she was a knockout 🙂

  2. Anne says:

    she is always the most striking when she wasn’t trying to be sexy.. her natural beauty was amazing..

  3. Juls says:

    Just found your blog!!! I love it!!!!! Great pics of MM! I was always fascinated by her as well!!!!!

  4. Angela says:

    She was such a natural beauty and so photogenic. I don’t believe she ever took a bad picture. I saw a collection of photos of her at the Toledo Museum of Art a few years ago and was just knocked out by it! Great blog – I’ll check it out later on when I have more time! ~Angela from Postcrossing

Leave a Reply

