Color me David

David Bromstad that is.

He’s the host of HGtv’s Color Splash and Color Splash: Miami . He’s also the reason for my latest design frenzy (which I still have not revealed in this blog)! I have loved the original show for the past few years. The new show is ok but I miss David’s old paint expert Danielle and the carpenter Ian.  The good natured ribbing is gone in the new show as he tries to train to newbie’s to his design aesthetic. I also miss David’s hands-on approach he used in the original. 😦

I set the original show to record re-runs on my dvr in the Spring so maybe I could pick up a few ideas for my apartment decor. And, to be honest, David isn’t too hard to look at.

In April I stumbled across an episode of Color Splash I had never seen before and was smitten!! With the decor people! 😀

Taken at face value the room is extreme but the elements and the ideas are what appealed to me.

David took an original Victorian dining room and gave it a Mid-Century Modern/Hollywood Glamour makeover. I fell in love with it – the colors and the sparkle were fantastic!! When I decided to redo my apartment this make over immediately came to mind!

I wasn’t creating a formal dining room but I adored the stormy blue colors with the lead crystal and aqua accents.

David always asks his clients what their color inspiration is for the room and this was exactly mine!! I love those lotus crystal tea light holders. I need to find a couple of those for my own room! The stormy (David’s adjective; not mine) blue/green/gray color on the wall and ceilings looks so great with the white trim. The color I picked for my living/dining room is a little cooler and bluer but was directly inspired by David’s design.

And one last pic just because….

One thought on “Color me David

  1. jill says:

    love love love

Leave a Reply

