The Mission

After reading Renee’s completed list of tasks and goals to accomplish in 1001 days I decided to create my own. I was originally inspired by her list a year and half ago when I stumbled across her blog link on MySpace. Oh, and I found Renee on MySpace because I did a profile search using “cross stitching” and “cats” as interests and needless to say it lead me straight to her!

I never made a list of my own because, to be honest, her list was so damn intimidating! I thought if I made a list I would never have the ambition or opportunity to finish it. When I read Renee’s completed list post I realized that finishing the list isn’t necessarily the point of making the list. Which leads me to this post….

The Mission:Complete 101 preset tasks in a period of 1001 days.

The Criteria:Tasks must be specific (i.e., little to no ambiguity in the wording) with a result that is either measurable or clearly defined. Tasks must also be realistic and stretching (i.e., represent some amount of work on my part).

Start Date: July 6, 2009
End Date:

Total: (61) I know I’m not finished yet but I have more than half done!!
Completed: indicated by purple italicized font!

Home: (9)

  • Refinish my 1940’s craft cabinet – whether it will be funky or vintage is undecided
  • Purchase (or obtain!) a new dinette set
  • Repair current bookcases and begin to replace the MDF ones with real wood ones
  • Fix and/or discard broken holiday decorations. Donate unused decorations
  • Donate clothing and blankets no longer used
  • Go through books and donate as many as possible
  • Find an organized way to store music, load favorite music selections onto the computer for long term storage
  • Replace dinnerware and silverware with comparable quality sets
  • Invest in a quality set of hard anodized aluminum non-stick cookware

Travel: (15)

  • Renew my passport in 2010
  • Take Paul & the Kids to the company condo in New Hampshire
  • Finish the second half of the Freedom Trail in Boston
  • Have a picnic lunch at Quincy National Park in Quincy, MA
  • Visit Washington D.C.
  • Go back to ABC Stitch Therapy in Grantham, NH
  • Go back to the Metropolitan Museum of Art in NY
  • Look out of the Statue of Liberty’s crown
  • Go to the Bronx Zoo
  • Visit Independence Hall in Philadelphia
  • See Amirault’s Hill in Nova Scotia
  • Visit the Hockey Hall of Fame in Toronto and see the Boston Bruins play the Maple Leafs IN Toronto
  • Visit DisneyWorld
  • Visit the Museum of Science in Boston
  • Take Paul & the Kids to Hadley, NY

Hobbies: (12)

  • Complete my maternal ancestry documentation (paternal is already done!)
  • Adhere to regular backups of digital photos to cd-rom
  • Finish scrapbooking the past year and half of my life
  • Regularly print and scrapbook photos and/or mementos
  • See the Detroit Red Wings play the Boston Bruins in Boston.
  • See the Toronto Maple Leafs play the Boston Bruins in Boston. This will complete my goal of seeing all of the Original Six hockey teams in action (All games against the Boston Bruins: Montreal Canadiens April 19, 2008, Chicago Blackhawks March 7, 2009 New York Rangers April 4, 2009)
  • Complete Marilyn Monroe cross stitch for framing
  • Start and complete Mirabilia’s Circle of Friends
  • Subscribe to Britain’s No. 1 Cross Stitcher magazine
  • Learn to Embroider
  • Learn to sew and/or take a sewing class with Mom
  • Create a better storage system for crafts

Health: (6)

  • Learn to swim properly again (Thank you Mackenzie!!)
  • Adopt the glycemic diet back into my life again
  • Start Pilates cycles again
  • Begin walking regularly
  • Buy a bicycle and helmet
  • Get a Physical and blood work

Finances: (8)

  • Begin a “House Down Payment” savings account – contribute a minimum of $50 per week to it
  • Find a new place to live for July 2010
  • Pay off “emergency” card
  • Learn more abut mortgages and purchasing a house and research any programs that can benefit me
  • Attend a Homebuyers Education Class
  • Convert all paper statements to paperless
  • Find an organized way to file important documents and bills; Use a ledger method to track payments and account number details for paperless items
  • Pay taxes properly and promptly (1st quarter paid 2009)

Personal: (11)

  • Visit Mom’s Knitting Group again
  • Find a Book Club
  • Find (or start) a cross stitching group to go to
  • Get Mackenzie a library card and take her to the library regularly
  • Read Band of Brothers by Stephen Ambrose
  • Re-read No Ordinary Time by Doris Kearns Goodwin
  • Read 1776 by David McCullough
  • Get car inspected
  • Replace front tires
  • Repair front fender on car
  • Have car detailed inside and out

Leave a Reply

